facebook twitter


On Wednesday, March 22, 2017, the Department of Student Life and Services, directed by Mr. Franklin Walker, Associate Superintendent and Ms. Paula Christen, Director, hosted the 2017 Superintendent’s Student Leadership Forum.  Approximately 700 students in Grades 6 through 12 participated from every middle, elementary, and high school. 

The agenda for the day included a presentation by Dr. Marcia Lyles, Superintendent, City Wide Student Council moderators, debate panels from every high school, student performances, on line polling, presentations by alumni, and former City Wide Student Council students.  The debate topics were decided by the City Wide Student Council members.  The Jersey City and Visual Performing Arts Band directed by Mr. Larry Puentes and Mr. David Luquette, the Snyder High School Dancers directed by Gina Statile, and the Snyder High School Tigerettes directed by Principal Yvonne Waller, all performed.  

The students, who participated, were selected by their administrators, teachers, and school counselors.  They were selected based on community service, character, academic accomplishments, overcoming obstacles, and  a consistent display of leadership qualities.  One student was chosen for the Distinguished Leadership Award.  The students listed were the students  receiving the Distinguished Leadership Award for the 2017 Superintendent's Student Leadership Forum.   Congratulations to all the students who participated for demonstrating outstanding leadership within their schools and communities. 


4   Madonna Mahrous
5   Arianaa Mejias
7   Kasandra Paradiso
11   Norin Metwally
12   Sadeishy Garcia
14   Tanaya Calamito
15   Eliza Brooks
17   Chaimaa Aknouche
23   Tsewang Sherpa
24   Marilyn Walker
27   Jordan Mendolla
28   Frank Menjivar
34   Marie Houghton
37   Ivellisses Segovia
38   Kendell Swan
39   Gretchen Encarnacion
40   Shinae Keyes
41   Salomon Granadus
ACA 1   Lhariezha Ann Balatbat
DHS   Lesley Armengolt
FHS   Ndey Senghorne
LHS   Henry Lam
SHS   Carlina Valerio
LAHS   Solomon Parshad
MAHS   Zain Mughal
INFINITY   Razelle Amante
RENAISSANCE   Tenzine Yangzon
INNOVATION   Elizabeth Bello
MS 4 Secretary Isha Solano
MS 7 Historian Estella Mercado
MS 40 Historian Giorell Avila
ACA1 Historian Danraj Gangaram
DHS Secretary Jasmeen Singh
FHS 1st VP Kimberley Bacos
INFINITY Historian Ermioni Christodoulakis
INNOVATION Assist. To Pres. Ian Morales
LAHS 2nd VP Naomi Campbell
LHS President Raquel Belen
MAHS Assist. To Pres. Abdelrahman Hassan
SHS 3rd VP Cassandra Francois

Translator (2)