Anti-Bullying Specialists

The Jersey City Board of Education prohibits acts of bullying, harassment, and intimidation of students and staff. The board has determined that a safe and civil environment in school is a necessity for students to learn and achieve high academic standards, and for staff to educate students effectively. Harassment, intimidation or bullying, like other disruptive or violent behaviors, is conduct that disrupts both a student’s ability to learn and a school’s ability to educate its pupils in a safe environment. All members of the Jersey City public schools community have a right to live and work in an environment that is safe. Harassment and bullying will not be tolerated because it can lead to more serious violence and because such behavior is gravely inconsistent with district efforts to improve academic performance, improve school attendance and reduce the drop-out rate. Students and staff who are intimidated and fearful cannot give the single-minded attention they need for success.
 
All students and staff are expected to treat each other with civility and respect and not to engage in behavior that is disruptive or violent. Therefore, the school district will not tolerate acts of harassment, intimidation or bullying against any students or staff.
 

Click on the link below to view the Jersey City Board of Education’s complete Harassment, Intimidation, and Bullying policy: 5131.2

Jersey City Public Schools Anti-Bullying Coordinator Phone Number Email Address      
Student Life & Services Paula Christen (201) 915-6227 pchristen@jcboe.org      
Elementary Schools Anti-Bullying Specialists Phone Number Email Address      
Frank R. Conwell School Patricia O'Malley  (201) 521-5984 malley@jcboe.org      
Dr. Michael Conti School Louis DeCarlo (201) 714-4300 ldecarlo@jcboe.org      
Jotham W. Wakeman School Tina Barone (201) 714-4310 tbarone@jcboe.org      
Charles E Trefurt School Linda Stokes (201) 714-4320 lstokes@jcboe.org      
Martin Luther King, Jr. School 
Susan Van Sant &
Irene Valenti
(201) 915-6521      
Julia A Barnes School Patti Acosta (201) 915-6423 pacosta@jcboe.org      
Ollie Culbreth, Jr. School Bhaskar Singh (201) 915-6430 bsingh@jcboe.org      
Whitney M. Young School
Audrey Page &
Talib Ahmad
(201) 915-6943      
Cornelia F. Bradford School Scott Sigler (201) 915-6450 ssigler@jcboe.org      
Joseph H. Brensinger School
Emily Landolfi &
Judy Thermitus Campbell
(201) 915-6120      
Dr. Maya Angelou School Daniel Marck (201) 915-6470 dmarck@jcboe.org      
Rev. Dr. Ercel F. Webb School
Maria Curcio &
June Rodriguez
(201) 915-6480      
Mahatma K. Gandhi School Danielle Chiaro (201) 915-6490 dchiaro@jcboe.org      
Chaplain Charles Watters School Janine Brown (201) 508-7677 ljackson@jcboe.org      
Nicolaus Copernicus School Laura Medina (201) 714-4340 lmedina@jcboe.org      
Alfred Zampella School Joel Carhuaz (201) 714-4350 jcarhuaz@jcboe.org      
Christa McAuliffe School Debra Cavanagh (201) 714-4360 dcavanagh@jcboe.org      
Gladys Nunery School Chris Johanna Catanio (201) 915-6520 ccatanio@jcboe.org      
Alexander D. Sullivan School Cathie Garafalo (201) 915-6530 dwalsh@jcboe.org      
Patricia Noonan School Laurie Corso-Riccardi (201) 714-4370 lcorso@jcboe.org      
Dr. Paul Rafalides School Jennifer Soriero (201) 915-6540 jsoriero@jcboe.org      
Barack Obama School 
Leonia Holston &
Esster Maxey
(201) 915-6550      
Rafael de J. Cordero School
Michelle Poznanski &
Nancy Pasquale
(201) 714-4390      
James F. Murray School Joseph Romano (201) 915-6620 jromano@jcboe.org      
Dr. Charles P. DeFuccio School Lanerma Jackson (201) 915-6560 kmcgowen@jcboe.org      
Gerard J. Dynes Regional Day School Deborah Levine (201) 915-6165 dlevine@jcboe.org      
Fred W. Martin Center of the Arts Sara Macniven (201) 915-6590 smacniven@jcboe.org      
Middle Schools Anti-Bullying Specialist Phone Number Email Address      
Academy I Middle School John Hughes (201) 915-6500 jhughes1@jcboe.org      
Frank R. Conwell Middle School Carmela Macagnano (201) 369-3360 cmacagnano@jcboe.org      
Franklin L. Williams Middle School
Magdolen Sleman &
Kenia Matos
(201) 714-8342      
Erza L. Nolan Middle School Melissa DeLaCruz (201) 915-6570 mdelacruz@jcboe.org      
Secondary Schools Anti-Bullying Specialist Phone Number Email Address      
William L. Dickinson High School Jim Hunter, Daniel O'Lear, Eben Meyers & Robert Maffia (201) 714-4400
 
     
James J. Ferris High School Carmen Petito (201) 915-6660 cpetito@jcboe.org      
Infinity High School Meagan Lopez (201) 915-1404      
Innovation High School Eliud Amaya (201)413-6979 eamaya@jcboe.org      
Liberty High School Treasy Brown (201) 714-4373 tbrown@jcboe.org      
Abraham Lincoln High School Please Contact Guidance (201) 915-6700        
McNair Academic High School Jose Avegno (201) 418-7618      
Henry Snyder High School Hilario Nunez (201) 915-6600 hnunez@jcboe.org      
Early Childhood Center Tiffany Grant Simmons & Lukisha Wright
(551) 998-7871
(201) 915-6304
     
Renaissance Institute 
Christopher Ferrara &
Troy Ridley
(2011) 946-5563