About Us


Educating Greatness


Developing a vision of doing what is best for all students and making them academically competitive in a global society


The Jersey City Public Schools is a comprehensive community public school district located in Jersey City, in Hudson County, New Jersey, United States. Rooted in rich history, the Jersey City Board of Education continues to offer new opportunities to meet the rapidly growing diverse population in the city. Our vision is to build a new educational community that provides a world-class education for every child in Jersey City. This means delivering an academically enriched and culturally responsive educational program that prepares every student for success while building knowledge, strengthening character, and fostering leadership.

McNair Academic High School was the second-ranked public high school in New Jersey out of 328 schools statewide in New Jersey Monthly magazine's September 2012 cover story on the state's "Top Public High Schools", after being ranked second in 2010 out of 322 schools listed. William L. Dickinson High School is the oldest high school in the city and James J. Ferris High School is represented by some of the top students of Jersey City who are members of the National Academy Foundation Magnet Programs. Academy I Middle School is one of the top middle schools in the country. Has been recognized with several achievements, including first place in the Lexus Environmental Challenge in 2008.
The Jersey City Public School district is in the process of implementing the most significant school investment in energy-saving improvements in state history — joining a program that will bring solar energy to 33 schools and save the district millions of dollars over the next 20 years.

As per the ESIP (Energy Savings Improvement Plan), Jersey City, one of the largest districts in the state, will realize $66 million in energy savings over the next 20 years. The plan includes adding HVAC (heating, ventilation, and air conditioning) to eight schools with poor ventilation, solar renewable energy for 33 schools, boiler replacements and conversions, upgraded roofs for 21 schools, and LED lighting for all schools. These approved measures will be substantially completed by September 2025 with an estimated value of $122 million.
Superintendent Norma Fernandez, Acting Business Administrator Dennis Frohnaphel, and Board President Natalia Ioffe call the project the most significant energy-saving plan in a school district across the state. The three district leaders said the project will not cost taxpayers anything.
"In my 30 years+ of industry experience, it has never been more exciting to see Jersey City Public Schools investing in a sustainable, greener future for students and staff," said Dr. Dennis, Acting Business Administrator of Jersey City Public Schools. "By partnering with DCO Energy and funding from American Rescue Plan (ARP) we are going to modernize the Districts facilities while reducing our energy and operational expenses. This is a win-win for everyone but most importantly for the students of Jersey City."
"This project is a testament to the sustainable and health safety priorities of Jersey City Public Schools. We are committed to providing a green, safe, and healthy learning environment to all students and staff," said Dr. Fernandez, Superintendent of Jersey City Public Schools. "Installing new HVAC equipment and solar panels will significantly improve indoor air quality and reduce emissions. This will allow the school district to redirect the funding into educational programs while improving the quality of classrooms for students." 


mission possible

JCPS 2023-24



Dr. Norma Fernandez
Superintendent's Cabinet Members
Dr. Dennis Frohnapfel Acting School Business Administrator 
Dr. Gerard Crisonino Assistant Superintendent/Special Education Department
Ms. Ellen M. Ruane Assistant Superintendent/Curriculum & Instruction
Dr. Magda Savino Assistant Superintendent/Division A 
Mr. Robert J. Pruchnik General Counsel/Superintendent's Office
Dr. Ruth Cummings-Hypolite Director/Early Childhood
Dr. Joseph Galano Director/Division B 
Mr. Jaime Morales Director/ Secondary Division
Mr. Edwin Rivera Director/Human Resources
Mr. Debasis Gupta Director/Technology
Board Members
Dejon Morris President
George Blount Vice President 
Noemi Velazquez  
Younass Mohamed Barkouch  
Paula Jones-Watson  
Natalia Ioffe  
Afaf Muhammad  
Alpa Patel  
Christopher Tisdale